Certified Customer Service Officer (CCSO)

What is CCSO Certification?

The CCSO certification not only highlights your foundational knowledge and skills crucial for customer support teams but also underscores your expertise in effective customer handling techniques and commitment to customer service best practices. This certification serves as a gateway to kickstart a successful career in customer service and strategically positions you to pursue higher-level certifications, including the coveted Certified Customer Service Professional (CCSP).

Earning your CCSO is not just a milestone; it’s a key asset for anyone aspiring to thrive in the service industry. Beyond signaling your proficiency, this certification enhances your visibility in the job market and optimizes your prospects for career growth. As a Certified Customer Service Officer, you’re not just starting a career; you’re opening doors to broader opportunities and setting the stage for a successful journey in the dynamic realm of customer support.


Who is it for?

The Certified Customer Service Officer (CCSO) certification is tailor-made for individuals entering the customer support industry, aspiring to pursue a career in this field, or seeking a transformative career change. This certification is uniquely designed to meet the needs of newcomers to the customer service sector, providing them with the essential skills and knowledge for a successful start in this dynamic profession.


How is it assessed?

To obtain the CCSO certification, you must pass a 100 multiple-choice question exam (MCQ). The CCSO certification exam tests your aptitude on Customer Service Fundamentals and Core Concepts.

Once completed, the exam will be system-scored and immediately provide a result of “Pass” or “Fail.” A score of 60% or more is required to pass the exam.

By passing the CCSO exam with a score of 60% or higher, you will receive the globally recognized CCSO certification! The CCSO certification is valid for a period of three years. At the end of this period the candidate must re-certify.

If a candidate fails the exam they may retake it by re-registering and paying 50% of the exam fee. There is no limit on the number of times a candidate may take the exam.


What are the study routes available?

Our certifications are flexible to suit all learning styles, needs and budgets. Whether you prefer to learn independently or would prefer the support from one of our approved training providers, there is a study route for you.

  • ICSRM On-demand Study Route: Study for your certification exam with our online learning platform for a seamless and interactive learning experience. With our flexible, tutor-led learning platform, you can study anytime, anywhere and at your own pace.
  • Approved Training Centre Route: Choose to study at one of our approved training providers and benefit from structured tutor led learning, that will help you prepare for your upcoming exams. Depending on your centre, you can study face-to-face or via online distance learning.


What are the topics covered?

The comprehensive online CCSO examination covers the following topics:

  • Introduction to Customer Service
  • Communicating Effectively with Customers
  • Managing the Customer Encounter
  • Handling Complaints and Conflicts
  • E-mail Etiquette and Writing
  • Continuously Improving Customer Service
  • Customer Relationships
  • The 21st Century Customer
  • Building Value for Customers
  • Managing the Customers


What are the associated fees?

Exam & Membership £180 GBP
On-demand Study Route £100 GBP
Training Centre Route DBP


DBP: Decided by training providers

Request Information Now

Act today — give your career a boost with customer service certifications